Plumes and Panache

April 16, 2010


Pa*nache n.

1. a dashing manner; style; swagger
2. (Clothing & Fashion) a feathered plume on a helmet

[via French from Old Italian pennacchio, from Late Latin pinnāculum feather, from Latin pinnafeather; compare Latin pinnāculumpinnacle]

I’m pretty sure I wore the word incarnate at a wedding recently.

It was a lovely Conservative wedding in the Puritan midwest, far from my free spirited comfort zone, but my confidence soared.

Scott Wilson headdress

Helmeted with a wraparound braid (firmly secured to my head so as not to scatter and frizz on the dance floor) and adorned by faux flora and true feather, I strode into battle, a fierce defender of individuality, bravado and fun.

That’s me on the right.

Notice the gently sprouting plumage.

Ignore the handsome gentlemen on the left.

He’s taken.

Birds fly and flaunt…

chirp and sing….

Why should we be gilded and chained?

vintage feather necklace

Why not dream of taking wing!

by designer Miss KK & available at www.BonaDrag.com

…and launch a stylish flight of fancy…

design by Laura Kranitz

“…birds fly over the rainbow, why then, oh why, can’t I…”

-E.Y. Harburg

2 Responses to “Plumes and Panache”

  1. everydayglamour Says:

    I love this, so inspiring! I particularly have an affinity for peacock feathers! Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

