Style Whisperer….shhhh

February 19, 2010

Don’t tell.

We all have guilty pleasures.

One of mine is watching ABC Studios’ The Ghost Whisperer…whenever I come across it….wherever I land in the episode.

My husband cringes, and I invariably find myself defending my adoration of the show!  I realized that EVERY time I gave my diatribe about why it’s “OK” for a discriminating actress to watch this fluffy piece of…fluff, I would end with my insatiable desire for the wardrobe of the lead character, Melinda Gordon (played by Jennifer Love Hewitt).

So there it is.

She is adorable.

Her wardrobe is adorable.

Her Victorian inspired HOME and all it’s vintage-eclectic decor is adorable.

And I love her hair and make-up, too.

I did a little research to find out where her pieces come from and sadly…so many of them are original vintage pieces.  But, thankfully, there is a resurgence of vintage inspired labels and boutiques!  Last week I highlighted a dear friend’s vintage inspired boutique, www.shopmadisonbelle.com, which is a phenomenal place to find unique housewares, gifts and fashion accessories.  I spent almost an hour (which we all know is hard to come by) browsing the gorgeous pieces on www.freepeople.com , and all us girls with any bit of ethereal flower child in us are die hard www.anthropologie.com fans!  These sites have some eye-popping and affordable accessories that speak to some of the greatest trends in fashion history, and individually create a stylish statement.  Wear one of these cute little trinkets with a basic cardigan, blazer or button down shirt and a pretty scarf or belt, and you’re transformed!

Most of the ensembles that Miss Melinda G. displays include a mix of modern items and vintage finds, including pieces from Cosabella, Willow, and Citizens of Humanity .  So, I know all you fun and fashion loving ladies (and gentlemen, too) can find a way to put your own spin on a combination of past and present threads.  Scour your thrift stores and treat yourself to a whimsical piece or two that will inspire a heavenly ensemble ala Melinda Gordon

…The Ghost Whisperer.

Leave a Reply

